B u m p s ( 2 )

I'm picking up where I left off yesterday, and I updated that post with images. So now you can read it again!


Morning at O'Hare, Chicago airport. Just before my plane was boarding.


American "coke". Click to enlarge.


When I finally got on the plane, everything went smoothly. I sat next to two women, one around 35, the other maybe 55. They were pleasant company, but like with the danish journalist I never learned their names. I realized I liked those conversations were the identity is not important, just the conversation itself. Old readers might remember my guide in the Freemason museum in Brussels.


Mountains! With snow and everything! I only ever saw that once before, in Switzerland.

I arrived at San Francisco at around 09.30 local time.


Authorities. I don't like 'em.

I went to the bathroom and then went to pick up my luggage. Before I had time to find the right luggage belt, I heard my name. My aunt came up and gave me a big hug. Her husband was there as well.
I took my luggage and we drove to Pacifica, the little (village? suburb? collection of houses?) place south of SF where they live.
I was a bit "out of it" due to lack of sleep and too many hours on an airplane, and jetlagged on top of that. But I arrived safe and almost sound. I was more hyper than tired (it happens when I get too little sleep but my body hasn't fully realized it yet), so I pursuaded my dear aunt that I was more than fit to go to the local market, and then continue into SF to meet up with my oldest cousin here.


Tomato, tomato.

The local market was a collection of stands on a parking lot outside a shopping centre, with fresh fruit and vegetables, most of it was locally grown, and I think all of it was organic. We bought some stuff and then drove to the old hippie area in SF, referred to as Ashbury Heights. The area had a cool young spirit to it and it reminded me of Europe. Like Camden Market in London, Christiania in Copenhagen or Möllan in Malmö.
I went into a few second hand shops, and bought a dress that probably wasn't second hand. But it was really cute.

Ashbury Heights:


Then we found a cozy café with a few vegetarian dishes. They boasted about their veggie burger as a speciality, but it was mainly made out of spinach. After having eaten many delicious vegetarian burgers in my life, I was disappointed. Oh and when my cousin turned up at our table I got so excited that I spilled a glass of ice tea on my aunt's sister in law.

Then we drove home to Pacifica again. I had a nap, and then they woke me up for dinner. Homemade pizza, everyone made their own. Verrrry tasty. For dessert we had fruit and chocolate fondue.


Tasty things!

Todays songs:
Regina Spektor - Folding chair
Clubroots - Toe to toe

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0