S h r i n e

So! Didn't have much time to write yesterday since we landed in Tokyo so late, but we didn't do much more than go out for a walk and a curry. Japanese curry is nothing like indian curry, it's brown and to my disappointment with small bits of meat (still a vegetarian).
The flight was pretty smooth except I was stuck between two swedish 50 year old men who kept comparing everything to Bangkok. We were offered a lot of drinks and got a piece of turkish delight as well.
 
We live in the Sjinjuku prefecture which is the entertainment area as I understand it. But we also suspect it's the home of the red light district. It's not quite as red as the Amsterdam red light district however. I've seen no women on obvious display. Just doors with explicit pictures leading to basements and a suspicious amount of massage parlors. After wandering around a few blocks we went back to sleep. 
 
Today we met up in the hotel lobby at 9, and headed out for breakfast. Somehow it was decided that we should head to the Harajuku prefecture. Decision making becomes very interesting when you're 11 friends. We stopped at the first place there but it was perfect. We paid for breakfast service, meaning an expensive drink (tea for me!) and a free toast with boiled egg. The toast was to everyones surprise gargantual. I added a yoghurt and breakfast was done.
 
Breakfast toast!
 
 
Next to the café was a purikura, a special kind of photo booth where friends go to take perfect pictures together. It heavily edits the photos automatically to give everyone perfect skin with clear shiny big eyes. And then you can personalize them. We spent probably an hour down there and I defenitely need to do that again.
 
So kawaii! Insane editing in the purikura
 
Then we split up and walked down Takeshita street and it was filled with adorable shops, all with unique clothes and accessories, some rather extreme, some very average. I was happy I didn't bring more money or I would not have much left. 
 
A back alley in Harajuku
 
 
After two hours of shopping we found a chinese place and I think we all had noodle soup. It was exactly what I needed. All the impressions are very exhausting and I'm still a bit jetlagged.
 
Then we spent some time walking in Yoyogi park, and visited the Meiji shrine, the biggest in Tokyo. I'll update with pictures later tonight, hopefully before we go to dinner and watch the robot show!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0